EMalta (Listeni/ˈmɒltə/; Maltese: [ˈmɐltɐ]), officially known as the Republic of Malta (Maltese: Repubblika ta’ Malta), is a Southern European island country consisting of an archipelago in the Mediterranean Sea.[9] It lies 80 km (50 mi) south of Italy, 284 km (176 mi) east of Tunisia,[10] and 333 km (207 mi) north of Libya.[11] The country covers just over 316 km2 (122 sq mi),[3] with a population of just under 450,000,[4] making it one of the world’s smallest[12][13][14] and most densely populated countries. The capital of Malta is Valletta, which at 0.8 km2, is the smallest national capital in the European Union by area.[15] Malta has one national language, which is Maltese, and English as an official language.


Rome (/ˈrm/ ROHM; Italian: Roma [ˈroː.ma], Latin: Rōma) is a special comune (named Comune di Roma Capitale) and the capital of Italy. Rome also serves as the capital of the Lazio region. With 2,873,598 residents in 1,285 km2(496.1 sq mi), it is also the country’s largest and most populated comune and fourth-most populous city in the European Union by population within city limits. It is the center of the Metropolitan City of Rome, which has a population of 4.3 million residents.[2] The city is located in the central-western portion of the Italian Peninsula, within Lazio (Latium), along the shores of the Tiber. The Vatican City is an independent country geographically located within the city boundaries of Rome, the only existing example of a country within a city: for this reason Rome has been often defined as capital of two states.


Paris (French pronunciation: [pɑʁi], locally [paʁi]) is the capital and most populous city of France. It has an area of 105 square kilometres (41 square miles) and a population of 2,229,621 in 2013 within its administrative limits.[3] The city is both a commune and department and forms the centre and headquarters of the Île-de-France, or Paris Region, which has an area of 12,012 square kilometres (4,638 square miles) and a population in 2016 of 12,142,802, comprising roughly 18 percent of the population of France.[4] By the 17th century, Paris was one of Europe’s major centres of finance, commerce, fashion, science, and the arts, and it retains that position still today. The Paris Region had a GDP of €624 billion (US $687 billion) in 2012, accounting for 30.0 percent of the GDP of France and ranking it as one of the wealthiest regions in Europe.


Berlin (/bərˈlɪn/, German: [bɛɐ̯ˈliːn]) is the capital and the largest city of Germany as well as one of its 16 constituent states. With a population of approximately 3.7 million,[4] Berlin is the second most populous city proper and the seventh most populous urban area in the European Union.[5] Located in northeastern Germany on the banks of the rivers Spree and Havel, it is the centre of the Berlin-Brandenburg Metropolitan Region, which has roughly 6 million residents from more than 180 nations.[6][7][8][9] Due to its location in the European Plain, Berlin is influenced by a temperate seasonal climate. Around one-third of the city’s area is composed of forests, parks, gardens, rivers, canals and lakes.[10]


is the capital of Japan and one of its 47 prefectures.[7] The Greater Tokyo Area is the most populous metropolitan area in the world.[8] It is the seat of the Emperor of Japan and the Japanese government. Tokyo is in the Kantō region on the southeastern side of the main island Honshu and includes the Izu Islands and Ogasawara Islands.[9] Formerly known as Edo, it has been the de facto seat of government since 1603 when Shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu made the city his headquarters. It officially became the capital after Emperor Meiji moved his seat to the city from the old capital of Kyoto in 1868; at that time Edo was renamed Tokyo. Tokyo Metropolis was formed in 1943 from the merger of the former Tokyo Prefecture (東京府 Tōkyō-fu) and the city of Tokyo (東京市 Tōkyō-shi).


Zurich [zyʁik] (allemand : Zürich Zürich [ˈtsyːʁɪç], en Suisse [ˈtsyːrɪx], suisse allemand : Züri [ˈtsyɾi], italien : Zurigo [dzuˈriːɡo], romanche : Turitg [tuˈritɕ]) est une cité alémanique de Suisse, capitale du canton de Zurich. Même si l’allemand est la langue officielle, les Zurichois parlent le Züritüütsch, un dialecte de l’alémanique qui emprunte d’ailleurs certains termes à d’autres langues en plus de l’allemand dont le français, l’italien, ou encore l’anglais3. C’est une cité très cosmopolite, comptant 30 % d’étrangers. Dans son article intitulé « World’s most expensive place to live is… » du 15 février 2012, The Economist classe Zurich comme étant la ville la plus chère au monde. Le cabinet Mercer la classe en deuxième position de 221 villes dans le monde pour sa qualité de vie4.

Alors que Berne est la capitale de la Confédération suisse, Zurich est un centre économique, financier, scientifique et artistique international : elle fait partie des « villes mondiales ». Zurich est la ville la plus peuplée de Suisse avec une population de 404 783 habitants en décembre 2014. L’agglomération, quant à elle, compte environ 1,3 million d’habitants, ce qui fait de Zurich une « petite » métropole en comparaison d’autres cités ayant une importance similaire